Greg Maroney: Strength and Serenity

One of my newest new age additions to #writingtothemusic. Maroney’s last album was Secrets of the Sea. The last album I listened to was Star Light, Star Bright . According to his bio, Maroney is inspired by the nature around him when he writes.

When you think of it, I’m inspired/motivated by his music to aid my writing, so according to the transitive property (which is really all I remember from algebra, and how I hate polynomials) I’m inspired by nature as well. See what I did there?

I’m glad to have his latest album in my playlist. Strength and Serenity was released on May 31st. With 14 songs, 1 hour and 5 minutes, there are already some top favorites on iTunes marked.

Screen Shot 2019-06-03 at 5.47.23 PM

SLEEPING FIELDS  is a nice intro into what the album may hold. I can seriously get lost in this piece and be in deep zen like concentration focusing on editing and revising.

ANGEL’S REST has beautiful hymnal like chords which I love. It’s really rare to hear some of this chords in pieces, but I expected it from Maroney. It brings a classic with modernity hymnal sound.

Screen Shot 2019-06-03 at 5.38.45 PM.pngGOLDEN SERENITY has an intriguing title which I love. When listening to it for the first time, it is peaceful and reflects the album artwork the most. When I think of serenity or anything serene, a calm river or sitting along the back aptly represents the song. It all begins at 1:37. The river has raging rapids, entangle debris, and shape land. Yet, it can be still and silent paying no mind, tranquil.

ETERNAL SONG light notes begin this piece. Like, tip toeing on water. It’s soft, light and cautious. I love those light chords they could go on forever when blended with the lower ones around 1:55. Almost feels hymnal at 2:55, and with its slow tempo I’m filled with deep consternation.  It’s a beautiful piece and my favorite.

This is a great music while writing especially being at camp this month. Visit his website for more of his albums he’s released. He has a Youtube as well, and I like watching the live version which really captures the heart and feeling. He’s also on spotify and Twitter: @gregmaroney1 

 

 

Leave a comment