Victor Gashnikov

Back in August 2016, Victor Gashnikov sent me a message via Twitter about checking out his music. I went back and began listening Gashnikov’s past albums. PIANO THING (EP), was the first. Chasing Shadows is a clean piece with runs all over the grand staff. I love runs! Slurs are pretty, but runs is what takes you on a journey, adventure, or pilgrimage across the stars! I imagine it’s the music playing for those living off the grid.

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 6.07.52 PM.png

Persona brought a smile to my face just 30 seconds into the piece. The staccato notes makes it fun and abrupt giving the piece a type A personality. I find myself anticipating for those notes.

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 6.42.08 PM.png

Gashnikov’s pieces are long. SHY LOVE single is 6 minutes and 32 seconds long. And, the chords at 1:31 were unexpectedly perfect. It sounded like a conflict within oneself while in love epecially unrequited. Then at 2:15, the habitual note playing in the background reminded me of being nervous or a climax of the book. It seems like it lasts forever, yet slowly changes key.

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 6.23.35 PM.pngHis latest album, UNTOLD STORIES,  has the longest piece No False Hopjust at 8 minutes and 51 seconds. With classical music the songs or pieces are to be longer than your standard pop song for those who are unaware. This song is my absolute favorite! Very classic, steam punk-y, mysterious sound which could fit in as background music for Sherlock Holmes.

Nobody Wants to Be Alone is a beautiful piece. The higher notes act as a conscience of some sort reminding someone or tormenting someone. Gashnikov’s abrupt chords in In a Moment of Doubt reminded me of a character making a major decision in life. “Should I? Should I not?” And it’s throughout the song.

This album has 14 songs. I can’t get review each piece, but I really enjoy discovering the many musical surprises of mezzo forte and chords within songs.

Website: https://victorgashnikovmusic.com

Twitter: 

 

 

Leave a Reply

